Pro Stock History

Study the past if you would define the future. ~ Confucius

The first NHRA Pro Stock event was the 1970 Winternationals in Pomona. Bill “Grumpy” Jenkins defeated Ronnie Sox in the final, 9.99 to 10.12.

bookRecommended reading: The History of NHRA Pro Stock



No book collection of a true student of the sport will be complete without The History of NHRA Pro Stock, which tells the story of the class via 240 historical photographs and descriptions in the detail readers have come to expect from the staff of National DRAGSTER. From the achievements of pioneering individuals and teams such as Bill “Grumpy” Jenkins, “Dyno Don” Nicholson, and the famed Sox & Martin through the years of utter domination by Bob Glidden that spanned two decades to today’s six-second, 210-mph factory hot rods, The History of NHRA Pro Stock guides readers through the years of milestones, groundbreaking technology, and career turning points in this fascinating segment of NHRA competition.

“What makes Pro Stock unique among the NHRA Professional racing categories is that its primary appeal comes not from the flame and thunder of nitromethane, but rather its direct connection with fans, who tend to root for the same manufacturer’s brand that they or someone they know drives on the street,” says John Jodauga, who began covering the NHRA Pro Stock beat for National DRAGSTER magazine at the inception of the class in 1970 and oversaw the project.

Pro Stock Winners

The Complete List of NHRA Pro Stock Winners Bill Jenkins, 1970, Pomona Ronnie Sox, 1970, Dallas Dick Landy, 1970, Englishtown Herb McCandless, 1970, Indianapolis Don Nicholson, 1971, Englishtown Mike Fons, 1971, Amarillo, Texas Don Carlton, 1972, Gainesville Ray Allen, 1972, Indianapolis Butch Leal, 1973, Montreal Bob Glidden, 1973, Indianapolis Wayne Gapp, 1973, Amarillo Wally Booth, 1974, … Continue reading Pro Stock Winners

Pro Stock Champions

There have been 49 NHRA Pro Stock season championships awarded since the first, which was won in 1970 by Ronnie Sox. Only 19 drivers have won NHRA Pro Stock season titles. The first world championship titles in Pro Stock, from 1970-1973, were awarded by way of who claimed victory at the World Finals. The points-based … Continue reading Pro Stock Champions

Quickest and Fastest

Current NHRA Pro Stock National Records 6.455 seconds, Jason Line, 2015 (spring) Charlotte 215.55 mph, Erica Enders, 2014 Englishtown Quickest Pro Stock Race in NHRA History 2015 Dallas Erica Enders, 6.467 to Jonathan Gray, 6.489 Quickest Pro Stock Field in NHRA History 2012 Gainesville No. 1 Allen Johnson, 6.492 No. 16 Larry Morgan, 6.555

Pro Stock Track Records

(as of June 2019, current NHRA racetracks only) Atlanta Dragway 6.493, Erica Enders, 2014 213.00, Jason Line, 2014 Auto Club Raceway at Pomona 6.480-second, Erica Enders, 2014 213.84 mph, Drew Skillman, 2015 Bandimere Speedway 6.877, Allen Johnson, 2015 201.01, Shane Gray, 2015 Brainerd International Raceway 6.541, Erica Enders, 2015 211.39, Shane Gray, 2015 Bristol Dragway … Continue reading Pro Stock Track Records