Preview: Denso NHRA Nationals at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway

Erica Enders will be looking to defend the event title at this weekend’s 17th annual Denso Spark Plugs NHRA Nationals in Las Vegas (photo: NHRA/National Dragster)

17th annual Denso Spark Plugs NHRA Nationals
The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway
April 1-3, 2016

Track Records
6.559 seconds, 210.28 mph, Erica Enders, October 2015

Defending Event Champ
Erica Enders, def. Vincent Nobile, 6.674, 207.24 to 6.674, 207.91

2015 No. 1 Qualifier
Jason Line, 6.606, 208.75
Low E.T.: Line, 6.606
Top Speed: Enders, 208.94

The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway opened in 2000, and the very first NHRA Pro Stock driver to claim victory there was Jeg Coughlin Jr.; he beat Warren Johnson in the final round. Coughlin won 10 Pro Stock events that year in 14 final rounds en route to his first NHRA Pro Stock championship.

The last time KB Racing-powered Bo Butner was in Las Vegas, he raced to the first final round his career. Jim Butner Auto Chevrolet Camaro pilot Butner fell to Erica Enders in the final at the Toyota Nationals last fall at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, 6.595, 208.97 to 6.610, 209.33.

Erica Enders drove her Elite Motorsports Pro Stocker to a series of brilliant performances in Las Vegas last season. She won both the spring and fall events and made it a double at the spring race when she scored her second consecutive K&N Horsepower Challenge victory.

KB Racing driver Greg Anderson, a 7-time Vegas winner, has more success at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway than almost anyone. Only one driver across all of the professional classes has won more than Summit Racing’s Anderson: Top Fuel pilot Tony Schumacher has eight Las Vegas victories.

There are 13 Pro Stock drivers overall who have successfully battled their way to the winner’s circle at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. Six will return this weekend looking for more, and 10 drivers will be going after their first win at The Strip.

Currently Competing Pro Stock drivers With Las Vegas Wins
Greg Anderson (3 spring Las Vegas wins, 4 fall)
Jeg Coughlin Jr. (3 spring, 2 fall)
Erica Enders (2 spring, 2 fall)
Allen Johnson (2 spring, 1 fall)
Shane Gray (1 fall)
Jason Line (1 spring)

Pro Stock Entry List, 17th annual Denso NHRA Nationals
1PS Erica Enders
2PS Greg Anderson
3PS Allen Johnson
4PS Chris McGaha
5PS Drew Skillman
6PS Vincent Nobile
8PS Jason Line
25PS Jeg Coughlin Jr.
40PS Alex Laughlin
52PS Deric Kramer
55PS V. Gaines
361PS Bo Butner
666PS Matt Hartford
677PS Aaron Strong
703PS Joey Grose
730PS Shane Gray

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: