A Quick History of Pro Stock in Gainesville

  • The first running of the NHRA Gatornationals in Gainesville was in 1970. The first Pro Stock winner? Why, that would be Bill “Grumpy” Jenkins, of course. Side note: The first season Pro Stock was officially contested in NHRA competition was that same year (and Grumpy was fresh off a win at the Winternationals when he nabbed that Gators trophy).


  • Current Pro Stock track records at Gainesville Raceway:

6.473, Mike Edwards, 2013

214.69 mph, Erica Enders, 2014


  • Warren Johnson has the most Gatornationals wins of any driver in any pro category. WJ has nine Gainesville Wallys on the shelf down there at his shop in Sugar Hill, Ga. Nine out of 97 career Pro Stock wins!


  • Summit Racing driver Jason Line has earned four Gatornationals wins for Summit Racing – that is the most of any currently competing Pro Stock driver.


  • Only four currently competing Pro Stock drivers have earned a trophy at the Gatornationals.

Jason Line (4): 2005, 2009, 2010, 2011

Greg Anderson (3): 2004, 2007, 2015

Jeg Coughlin Jr. (2): 2001, 2008

Allen Johnson (2): 2013, 2014


  • Gainesville Raceway is tied with Auto Club Raceway at Pomona as the venue most likely to host a first-time Pro Stock winner. Both tracks have ushered a newcomer to the winner’s circle on six occasions. First-time Gainesville Pro Stock winners:

Don Carlton, 1972

Wally Booth, 1974

Frank Iaconio, 1978

Don Campanello, 1986

Darrell Alderman, 1989

Kenny Delco, 1990


  • 2016’s potential first-time Pro Stock winners at Gatornationals:

Bo Butner

John “Jack” Gaydosh

Matt Hartford

Alex Laughlin



Leave a Reply

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: